375 Beale Street  
Suite 700  
San Francisco, California  
Meeting Agenda - Final  
ABAG Executive Board  
Friday, October 28, 2022  
9:30 AM  
HYBRID (In person option available)  
Special Meeting Workshop  
Association of Bay Area Governments  
Executive Board Meeting No. 479  
In light of Governor Newsom’s State of Emergency declaration regarding COVID-19 and in  
accordance with Assembly Bill 361’s (Rivas) provisions allowing remote meetings, this meeting  
will be accessible via webcast, teleconference, and Zoom for all participants.  
A Zoom panelist link for meeting participants will be sent separately to committee, commission,  
or board members.  
Meeting attendees may opt to attend in person for public comment and observation at 375  
Beale Street, Board Room (1st Floor).  
In-person attendees must adhere to posted public health protocols while in the building.  
Members of the public are encouraged to participate remotely via Zoom at the following link or  
phone number:  
Please click the link below to join the webinar:  
Or One tap mobile :  
US: +16468769923,,82212672672# or +16469313860,,82212672672#  
Or Telephone:  
Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):  
US: +1 646 876 9923 or +1 646 931 3860 or +1 301 715 8592 or +1 309 205 3325 or +1 312  
626 6799 or +1 253 215 8782 or +1 346 248 7799 or +1 360 209 5623 or +1 386 347 5053 or +1  
408 638 0968 or +1 564 217 2000 or +1 669 444 9171 or +1 669 900 6833 or +1 719 359 4580 or  
833 548 0276 (Toll Free) or 833 548 0282 (Toll Free) or 877 853 5247 (Toll Free) or 888 788 0099  
(Toll Free)  
Webinar ID: 822 1267 2672  
Detailed instructions on participating via Zoom are available at:  
Committee members and members of the public participating by Zoom wishing to speak should  
use the “raise hand” feature or dial "*9" and dial “*6” to unmute and speak.  
In order to get the full Zoom experience, please make sure your application is up to date.  
Members of the public may participate by phone or Zoom or may submit comments by email at  
info@bayareametro.gov by 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting date. Please  
include the committee or board meeting name in the subject line. Due to the current  
circumstances, there may be limited opportunity to address comments during the meeting. All  
comments received will be submitted into the record.  
The ABAG Executive Board may act on any item on the agenda.  
The meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m.  
For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.  
Susan Adams, Candace Andersen, Jesse Arreguin, Nikki Fortunato Bas, London Breed,  
Tom Butt, David Canepa, Pat Eklund, Susan Ellenberg, Maya Esparza, Carroll Fife,  
Neysa Fligor, Leon Garcia, Giselle Hale, Barbara Halliday, David Haubert, Rich Hillis,  
Dave Hudson, Otto Lee, Matthew Mahan, Rafael Mandelman, Gordon Mar,  
Yvonne Martinez-Beltran, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Stephanie Moulton-Peters,  
Raul Peralez, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Carlos Romero, James Spering, Loren Taylor,  
Steve Young. Donald Young (Advisory).  
Arrival / Breakfast (9:00 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.)  
1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum  
2. Workshop Welcome and Opening Remarks  
Workshop Welcome and Introduction of Workshop Objectives  
Jesse Arreguin  
3. Budget Discussion  
Presentation on background information on ABAG budget deficit  
Derek Hansel  
Break (10:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.)  
4. Budget Discussion (continued)  
Presentation of some initial options for addressing the ABAG structural  
deficit and Executive Board discussion of perspectives and potential  
Derek Hansel  
Break / Lunch (12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.)  
5. Workshop Wrap Up  
Workshop Wrap Up  
Jesse Arreguin  
6. Adjournment / Next Meeting  
The next regular meeting of the ABAG Executive Board is on November 17, 2022.  
Public Comment: The public is encouraged to comment on agenda items at Committee meetings  
by completing a request-to-speak card (available from staff) and passing it to the Committee secretary.  
Public comment may be limited by any of the procedures set forth in Section 3.09 of MTC's Procedures  
Manual (Resolution No. 1058, Revised) if, in the chair's judgment, it is necessary to maintain the orderly  
flow of business.  
Meeting Conduct: If this meeting is willfully interrupted or disrupted by one or more persons  
rendering orderly conduct of the meeting unfeasible, the Chair may order the removal of individuals who  
are willfully disrupting the meeting. Such individuals may be arrested. If order cannot be restored by  
such removal, the members of the Committee may direct that the meeting room be cleared (except for  
representatives of the press or other news media not participating in the disturbance), and the session  
may continue.  
Record of Meeting: Committee meetings are recorded. Copies of recordings are available at a  
nominal charge, or recordings may be listened to at MTC offices by appointment. Audiocasts are  
maintained on MTC's Web site (mtc.ca.gov) for public review for at least one year.  
Accessibility and Title VI: MTC provides services/accommodations upon request to persons with  
disabilities and individuals who are limited-English proficient who wish to address Commission matters.  
For accommodations or translations assistance, please call 415.778.6757 or 415.778.6769 for  
TDD/TTY. We require three working days' notice to accommodate your request.  
Acceso y el Titulo VI: La MTC puede proveer asistencia/facilitar la comunicación a las personas  
discapacitadas y los individuos con conocimiento limitado del inglés quienes quieran dirigirse a la  
Comisión. Para solicitar asistencia, por favor llame al número 415.778.6757 o al 415.778.6769 para  
TDD/TTY. Requerimos que solicite asistencia con tres días hábiles de anticipación para poderle  
proveer asistencia.  
Attachments are sent to Committee members, key staff and others as appropriate. Copies will be  
available at the meeting.  
All items on the agenda are subject to action and/or change by the Committee. Actions recommended  
by staff are subject to change by the Committee.